Wednesday, June 18, 2008

American Christian Fiction Writer's Conference

Last September, I attended my first ACFW conference. I'd been a member of ACFW for many years, and it was ridiculous I hadn't made it to the national conference any sooner. I happened upon the Mount Hermon conference during my first year of writing, and that became my annual writer's conference. But friends continued to encourage me to attend ACFW, so last September I headed to Dallas.

I'll be honest. I approached the conference with some fear.

The year before had held a bunch of challenges. I was weary. In fact, I felt like a pheasant at hunting season - hit with buckshot and peppered with wounds.

It's hard hanging out with others when you feel like you're full of holes.

When I arrived in Dallas, I asked God to do a healing work. Then I waited for the big moment where He'd wash over me. But that wasn't how He worked.

Instead, each conversation, each encounter, held balm for one of my small holes. Little by little, He brought targeted and specific restoration through the love and wisdom of people at the conference. Bits of knowledge I lacked. Words of comfort I ached for. Opportunities to encourage someone else in their efforts. Deep talks in the halls. Giggles with my roommate at night. Even making new friends while on the shuttle to the airport at the end of the conference.

I know I'm not the only one who experienced the "God-encounters" that seemed to spring up everywhere I turned.

This year, I'm even more excited to attend...

1. To watch and see what God has in mind and how He will meet me
2. To welcome Christian writers to my home state - HOORAY MINNESOTA!!!
3. To offer a workshop on the writing journey, with tips, encouragement, and resources that every novelist should stuff in their backpack while heading out on the adventure of pursuing publication

My best tip for new attendees (as I was last year): Planning is fine, but be ready to toss aside your personal agenda and be open to God's side-tracks. This is a conference that is bathed in prayer, and infused with worship. As is true whenever God is involved, you can prepare to be amazed, occasionally bewildered, and thoroughly blessed.

Hope to see you there!

You can read more about the conference on the ACFW Conference Blog Tour by visiting these sites:


6/11/2008 Chip MacGregor http://acfwconference.blogspot.com/
6/11/2008 Cara Putman http://carasmusings.blogspot.com
6/12/2008 Wanda Dyson http://acfwconference.blogspot.com/
6/12/2008 Pamela James http://pammer.blogspot.com/
6/13/2008 Jennifer AlLee http://jenniferallee.blogspot.com
6/13/2008 Ane Mulligan http://anemulligan.blogspot.com
6/16/2008 Robin Miller http://robinswritingworld.blogspot.com/
6/16/2008 Christina Nelson http://christinanelson.blogspot.com
6/17/2008 Annette Irby www.annetteirby.blogspot.com
6/18/2008 Martha Rogers www.marthawrogers.com
6/18/2008 Sharon Hinck http://sharonswriting.blogspot.com
6/19/2008 Susan May Warren http://scribbles.susanmaywarren.com
6/20/2008 Camy Tang http://camys-loft.blogspot.com/
6/23/2008 Deb Raney www.deborahraney.com
6/23/2008 Ronie Kendig http://supernaturalcraving.blogspot.com
6/24/2008 Colleen Coble http://girlswriteout.blogspot.com
6/25/2008 Rachel Hauck http://www.rachelhauck.com/blog.htm
6/26/2008 Brandilyn Collins www.forensicsandfaith.blogspot.com
6/26/2008 Cathy West http://writersrest.blogspot.com
6/27/2008 Jill Elizabeth Nelson http://www.jillelizabethnelson.com/artisticblogger.shtml
6/28/2008 Eileen Watson http://eileenastels.blogspot.com/
6/30/2008 Lynette Sowell www.lynettesowell.com
6/30/2008 Sue Brower http://acfwconference.blogspot.com/
7/1/2008 Gina Conroy http://ginaconroy.com/ginablog/wordpress/
7/2/2008 Lena Nelson Dooley http://lenanelsondooley.blogspot.com
7/2/2008 Rachelle Gardner http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/
7/3/2008 Linda Fulkerson http://scrivenings.com
7/4/2008 Terry Burns http://www.terryburns.net/
7/4/2008 Rebeca Yeager http://acfwconference.blogspot.com
7/7/2008 Susan Downs http://editcafe.blogspot.com/
7/7/2008 Carla Stewart http://carlastewart.blogspot.com
7/9/2008 Rebecca Germany http://editcafe.blogspot.com/
7/9/2008 Leanna Ellis http://www.leannaellis.com/news.html
7/9/2008 Rose McCauley www.rosemccauley.blogspot.com
7/10/2008 Sharon Dunn http://marilynngriffith.typepad.com/faithchick/
7/11/2008 Pam Meyers http://pammeyerswrites.blogspot.com/
7/11/2008 JoAnne Simmons http://editcafe.blogspot.com/
7/14/2008 Celia Tomer www.ceceliadowdy.blogspot.com
7/14/2008 Janice Olson www.janiceolson.com
7/15/2008 Angie Bredenbach http://godusesbrokenvessels.blogspot.com
7/16/2008 Christina Berry http://authorchristinaberry.blogspot.com
7/17/2008 Roxanne Rustad http://ladiesofsuspense.blogspot.com
7/18/2008 Margaret Daley http://margaretdaley.blogspot.com
7/18/2008 Margaret Daley http://margaretdaley.blogspot.com
8/1/2008 Christa Allen www.cballan.wordpress.com
8/3/2008 Deborah Vogts http://www.deborahvogts.com
8/4/2008 Michelle Hutchinson http://edgyinspirationalauthor.blogspot.com
8/6/2008 Tiff Stockton http://www.ambermiller.com
8/28/2008 Gail Gaymer Martin www.gailmartin.blogspot.com


Blessings!
Sharon Hinck

The Secret Life of Becky Miller (2007 ACFW Book of the Year - 2nd place, Lit category)
Renovating Becky Miller
(2008 Audie Award Finalist, Inspirational Fiction category)
The Restorer
(2008 Christy Award Finalist, Visionary category)
The Restorer's Son (Romantic Times 4.5 stars, Reviewer's Choice Award - Road to Romance reviewers)
New Releases:
The Restorer's Journey
Symphony of Secrets

Coming Soon:
Stepping Into Sunlight

3 comments:

Katie Hart - Freelance Writer said...

Great info about the conference, but what I really noticed about this post is that an awesome author uses Pentel R.S.V.P. pens! I use them all the time (esp. the violet ones) and wrote the entire rough draft of my first novel with them!

Sharon Hinck said...

Yes yes yes! I LOVE those pens. And did you know you can unscrew the bottom, decorate a small piece of paper, roll it up tight, slip it inside, and create a cool personalized pen??? That's another think I love about them. :-)

Pammer said...

I love your story of how God met you. A great testimony for a great God.

I remember meeting you at the conference and I look forward to seeing you again this year.

Can't wait. :)